top of page

R.I.P James Earl Jones

Normally, I wouldn’t use my blog posts for making stuff like this nowadays, but after learning the news…I just couldn’t hold back from making this dedication post.


James Earl Jones, a truly legendary actor who graced the world with his abilities for several decades, passed away today at the age of 93. The cause of his death hasn’t been disclosed, but I know for a fact that he obviously lived a good long life.

Like many other people in this world, I was introduced to Jones through his work as Mufasa in the 1994 animated version of “The Lion King”, and his work as Darth Vader in the Star Wars franchise. And then later, I saw his live-action work in “The Sandlot” and the Jack Ryan films starring Alec Baldwin & Harrison Ford.


I could never forget that recognizably distinct and rich voice he had, and it was something that always stuck out to me regarding him. However, there were several things about Jones that I could never forget and have always admired too.


In my opinion, James Earl Jones was quite honestly one of the greatest African-American performers around. Whether he starred in an animated or live-action production, Jones had the ability to command the screen even after just a few seconds. Every moment he was given, he turned into something worthy of admiration; and every piece of dialogue he spoke, he turned into a quote that people could fondly recite by heart. And on top of that, his passion and commitment for portraying characters was something I would always note, and he’d never refrain from incorporating a personality, sense of humor, and theatricality that would immediately be welcoming, whether his character was good or bad. I would always be open to seeing more movies and shows featuring Jones, and I have a feeling that I’ve barely scratched the surface with further delving into his filmography.


Actors like James Earl Jones are a gem that come only every once in a lifetime, and to me…he was a blessing that the world needed. His work will undoubtedly be immortalized for all to see, especially because of his presence, voice, and abilities.

 

Rest in Peace, James Earl Jones.


You were truly one of a kind, and you’ll never be forgotten.

2 comentários


Convidado:
10 de set.

Yes, a great actor and, by all accounts, a great person. Can’t think of any part he played that he wasn’t awesome. RIP James Earl Jones. I pray your soul was with Christ.

Curtir

Convidado:
10 de set.

Austin, your words are just right. James Earl Jones was legendary. Thank you

Curtir
bottom of page