top of page

My TV Show Review on Star Trek: The Original Series

Greetings and salutations, my friends.

This is your friendly film, TV show, and episode reviewer here reporting for duty.

Today, I'll be giving you all my 21st TV show analysis by doing my take of "Star Trek: The Original Series".

Here's the summary of it:

Taking place in the 23rd century, the series follows the adventures of James T. Kirk as he commanders the Starship Enterprise and travels the galaxy, where he also faces off against foes that not only endanger the lives of him and his crew, but the universe too.

Accompanying Kirk on these missions are Leonard "Bones" McCoy, Spock, Montgomery "Scotty" Scott, Nyota Uhura, Hikaru Sulu, and Pavel Chekov among others.

In all honesty, this franchise wasn't something that I had gotten into ever since I was born, so I wasn't a Trekkie. However, I did grow an interest for the franchise after seeing the three reboot films, and I even found myself wanting to give the older installments a shot after seeing them.

And I really must say, I can see why this show is so significant. IT'S PHENOMENAL!

For instance, the acting, casting, characters, and character development were among what I found to be the best parts. The diversity of its cast and characters was deeply admirable, especially in terms of ethnical and country background. The performers themselves portrayed their characters with strong emotion, personality, and sense of dimensionalism, which helped them to be extremely human.

Out of all the cast members and characters, my favorites were that of William Shatner, Leonard Nimoy, and DeForest Kelley as Kirk, Spock, and McCoy. I especially enjoyed the brotherly bond that the three of them shared and how much the real life friendship of the three actors translated into their characters.

The special effects that were used here and there were impressive as well. Even though the characters were mostly on either the ship or the planets, it astounded me on how the production team made great use of their budget and had everything seem like the characters really were in space or on another planet.

The music that was composed by Alexander Courage was a magnificent showstopper, if I may say. For a composer of a television series, Courage certainly did know how to emotionally invest himself into his music to where it was on a cinematic level, and there was a vast amount of epicness to accompany it.

Finally, the overall storytelling and direction of the series was nicely done as well. Aside from repeating the same storylines a lot of times, I found everything to be overall intriguing and well-thought to a tee. My favorite part about it was the sense of balance it would have. In this case, many episodes would not only be dramatic and thrilling enough to put viewers on the edge of their seats, but there would be others with a humorous and witty tone to help ease the tension caused by the dramatic ones. At times, there'd even be ones that are dramatic with snippets of wit.

Now if I'm gonna be honest, the only detractors I couldn't help but note were how pushy the series would get about saying evolution is an actual science when it really isn't, as well as the anti-religious messages that were incorporated in many episodes. In terms of the latter, I can understand that its likely intention was to teach the dangers of worshipping things such as machines and statues. But, when you push it so far as to say that people should debunk their beliefs entirely, whether they're a Christian or a person of some other type of religion, that's where it's taking things too far.

In the end, "Star Trek: The Original Series" isn't flawless, but it's fun, intriguing, and extremely worthwhile.

So, I rate "Star Trek: The Original Series" 4½ out of 5 stars.

Stay tuned for the listing of my favorite and least favorite episodes of the series coming at some point in the future.

bottom of page