top of page

My Thoughts on the Upcoming Live-Action Adaption of The Lion King

I remember hearing the announcement that they were going to remake this movie long ago.

The Lion King is one of my all-time favorite movies. I loved it ever since I was a child. The animation, the story, the music, the cast, the characters, and the amount of compassion and effort put into it.

I wanted to say, that in all honesty, I don't see the value in remaking this movie into a live-action.

One reason is because I find the amount of remakes that Disney plans to do to not be a good idea. Mainly because remaking movies like this one is just not necessary. It's a waste of time, money, talent, everything.

Remakes like the recent Jungle Book movie and Maleficent were the better of those remakes because the stories were different, and there was a lot more crafting and effort put into them to make them excellent. But ones like Beauty and the Beast, Aladdin, and Cinderella, I barely find the worth in remaking such perfect classics.

Also, what's the point in making the film a live-action CGI remake when there aren't any humans in the film. With The Jungle Book, even though Mowgli was the only human in the film, he helped the audience follow the story and make the interactions with the animals so real.

I like that Jon Favreau is planning on directing this movie following the success of The Jungle Book, but I think he should do something new and different for himself and Disney.

In my opinion, he should definitely make the new film hand-drawn animated instead of live-action. It can give much more necessity and interest towards the audience, and also be a change of pace for everyone since it hasn't been used often lately.

The story itself I definitely find can be redone into one that's better than the first since there are some things that don't completely tie-in. Jeff Nathanson by the way will be writing the story.

Also, I am starting to find that some of the actors for the character can be replaced, like Donald Glover replacing Matthew Broderick as Simba. But, there are many voices and actors that I don't think can ever be replaced, like James Earl Jones as Mufasa, and Jeremy Irons as Scar. I'm glad that at least one of the cast members from before is coming back.

Anyway, I do hope that since this project is happening, that Favreau can make this project something that is worth being made, like taking the advice I made on this post.

With that said, thank you for your time.

Below here is a gallery of our director and writer. Also in this gallery are the people who have been confirmed to star in the film or are in talks to star in the film.

bottom of page